Laptop Docking Stations: Five Listings Compared by Ports, Displays and Power Delivery
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A docking station turns one USB-C or Thunderbolt cable into a set of ports for monitors, storage, networking and charging. The listings in this group range from a business dock with a 100-watt power delivery rating to compact USB-C hubs with a single HDMI port. They differ in the number of ports, the display outputs they support and the operating systems they name. The port count and the display support decide whether the dock fits your setup, so this guide reads each listing by those figures.
Quick answer
Start with the displays. Check how many monitors you need and whether the dock lists HDMI, DisplayPort or dual-monitor support. Then check the power delivery wattage. The listings here state wattages from 100 watts downward, and the power figure must meet or exceed what your laptop needs to charge. Finally, confirm the compatible devices, since some docks name specific operating systems and laptop brands.
How we chose
Each entry uses the product details saved for the listing: number of ports, USB port count, HDMI port count, wattage, compatible devices, color, dimensions and item weight. The guide reports these as the listing states them. It does not describe how any dock performs with a real monitor, how fast its data transfers run, or how stable it is under load.
What we could not verify
Real-world transfer speed, display resolution at each port and charging behaviour are not tested here. Some listings name compatible operating systems and laptop brands, and those lists are the seller’s. Where a count or a wattage is missing or unclear in the saved fields, the guide says so.
The five listings
Dell Pro WD25: USB-C docking station, 100 watts, DisplayPort and HDMI, black
The Dell WD25 is a business docking station in black, rated at 100 watts for power delivery. It has 10 ports in total and six USB ports, and it outputs to DisplayPort and HDMI. The dimensions are 8.07 by 3.54 by 1.39 inches. The compatible devices field names Windows 10 and 11, Ubuntu 24.04, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.6 and ChromeOS 137. It is the most detailed listing in the group on operating system support. View the Dell WD25 dock on Amazon.
MOKiN: 14-in-1 dual monitor dock, 4K HDMI, USB-C, for Dell, HP and Mac
The MOKiN dock is listed as a 14-in-1 hub with dual monitor support and 4K HDMI, in a color field that reads 14 in 1. It has 14 ports in total and five USB ports. The compatible devices field names laptops in general, and the title lists Dell, HP and Mac. The unit count is one. Check the monitor output on the product page, since the title and the saved data describe the dual-monitor function in different words. View the MOKiN dock on Amazon.
Acer: 13-in-1 laptop docking station, USB-C, three displays with two HDMI and one DisplayPort, space gray
The Acer dock is a 13-in-1 unit in space gray with three display outputs, two HDMI and one DisplayPort. It has 13 ports in total, four USB ports and a wattage of 110 watts. The dimensions are 7.89 by 3.25 by 0.94 inches. The high output count makes it the most capable display dock in this group, but the monitors still need their own resolution support. View the Acer dock on Amazon.
UANTIN: 10-in-1 USB-C dock, dual monitor, gray, two HDMI, Thunderbolt compatible
The UANTIN dock has 10 ports in total, five USB ports and two HDMI ports, in gray. The compatible devices field names Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 laptops, Lenovo, HP and Dell laptops, and MacBooks running macOS. The wattage field reads 1 and the unit count is one, which look like data errors, so confirm the power delivery figure on the product page before charging a laptop through it. View the UANTIN dock on Amazon.
HODO: USB-C dock for three monitors, gray, eight ports
The HODO dock is a gray USB-C dock with eight ports in total and three USB ports. It is listed for three monitors, and the saved data includes an incompatible devices field that names a list of models without a full list. The item weight is 0.13 kilograms. The incompatible devices field means the seller does not list every compatible laptop, so check your model against the product page before buying. View the HODO dock on Amazon.
A comparison by ports, displays and power
| Dock | Total ports | USB ports | Display outputs named | Power delivery |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dell WD25 | 10 | 6 | DisplayPort, HDMI | 100 W |
| MOKiN | 14 | 5 | 4K HDMI, dual monitor | Not stated |
| Acer | 13 | 4 | 2 HDMI, 1 DisplayPort | 110 W |
| UANTIN | 10 | 5 | 2 HDMI | 1 (likely error) |
| HODO | 8 | 3 | Three monitors (title) | Not stated |
Port count and display outputs are the main points of comparison. The power figures differ in how they are stated, so confirm the wattage on the product page before connecting a laptop.
Displays and resolution
Each display needs a port that supports its resolution. A dock that lists two HDMI ports can drive two monitors, while one with three displays on its label needs the laptop to support that many outputs. Check your laptop’s graphics support as well as the dock’s.
Power delivery
The Dell WD25 and Acer docks state 100 watts and 110 watts. A laptop charger rated higher than the dock’s output may charge slowly or not at all, so check the laptop’s charger wattage before buying.
Checks to make before you order
Count the monitors you need and check the output ports for each.
Confirm the power delivery figure, especially on the UANTIN and HODO listings.
Check the compatible laptop list against your model.
Which dock suits which desk
For a business setup with a named operating system list and 100 watts of power, the Dell WD25 is the option to compare. For several displays and many ports, the Acer dock has the most display outputs. For a dual monitor dock with a wide port count, the MOKiN listing is the choice. For a compact dock that drives a few monitors, the UANTIN or HODO listings are the ones to check.
Cables and connection
A dock connects to the laptop with one USB-C or Thunderbolt cable, and the cable is often the limit on speed. The Dell WD25 and Acer listings name the wattage they support, which tells you the charging capacity. Check whether the dock includes the connecting cable, since the saved data does not state it for every listing, and keep the dock within reach of the laptop so the cable does not pull.
Ports you are likely to use
Most people use a dock for a monitor, a keyboard, a mouse, a network cable and a charger. Count how many of those you connect at once, then check that the dock has the right type of port for each. The Dell WD25 lists six USB ports and two display outputs, while the Acer dock lists two HDMI and one DisplayPort. A dock with more ports than you need adds bulk without adding use.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a dock with 100 watts?
Check the power needed by your laptop’s charger. A dock should meet or exceed it.
Will any dock work with my laptop?
No. Check the compatible devices list and your laptop’s ports.
How many monitors can one dock drive?
It depends on the dock and the laptop. Check the display outputs and your laptop’s support.
Sources
Port counts, wattages and compatibility lists come from the listings. Power and compatibility claims are the sellers’ statements and should be checked against your laptop’s manual.
- Amazon, where each listing is read as the seller states it
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
- OEKO-TEX, the textile testing and certification organization
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.